Author Topic: Deepin - Live iso?  (Read 1058 times)

Online Jason Wallwork

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #45 on: January 12, 2019, 09:23:15 pm »
I am wondering if this is a permissions issue of where VMware is placing the machine on the drive. Two suggestions, if you're not already, make sure you run VMware Workstation Player as a non-root user and that when you creating a VM to install a distro, make sure the files are on that user's home drive. I got this idea from this thread:

https://communities.vmware.com/thread/305983

Though the original post is old, it has been commented on over the years and the most recent reply says that the thread helped a user using Linux Mint.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2019, 07:43:45 pm by Jason Wallwork »
Primary: Desktop w/ Win10Pro/OpenSUSE Leap  on i5-3.2 GHz w/ 12 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD boot & 2x2 TB RAID 10 array for extra storage

Secondary/Test: Toshiba Satellite Ultrabook Z830-00K w/ Win10/Kali Linux 2019.2  (i3-1.4 GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SDD)

Phone: Sony Xperia XA1 Ultra w/ Android Oreo 8.0

Offline BusterE

  • Posting Member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #46 on: January 12, 2019, 11:07:25 pm »
So Bill, I hope you haven't deleted everything!!!!!!

Got to /home and find the vmware folder. Open this file and RIGHT CLICK on the file you wish to boot, in this case the .vmx file.

You will be able to work it out from there  :)  :)  :)

No idea why this works. Magic.

Offline ssfc72

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #47 on: January 13, 2019, 04:53:16 am »
Thanks Jason and Buster, for your help!

Buster, your work around, of going into the file manager vmware folder and right clicking on the .vmx file, did bring up the Guest OS.
A real dirty way, to have to boot up a virtual Guest OS, but it works.

I am going to take one of my dual booting notebooks, image the drive, and then do a fresh install of a Linux distro, only.  I will let the Linux install, wipe the drive, so there is no other OS, on the drive.
I suspect this might get the Linux vmware player, to work properly.
Mint 18.3 on an HP Pavilion X360, 11" k120ca notebook
Tried Mint 19, but too many bugs. Went back to Mint 18.3
Cellphone ZTE Axon 7 Mini, PCMobile pay as you go

Online buster

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 503
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #48 on: January 13, 2019, 11:20:47 am »
Got this from the link in Jason's post:

The file /home/user/.local/share/recently-used.xbel will be emptied from time to time and every time you log out, thus the library / list of VMs will be lost.

This only happens if you have deactivated 'Record file & application usage' in Ubuntu System Settings 'All Settings / Security & Privacy / Files & Applications'.

If you activate 'Record file & application usage' your list of VMs will not be lost anymore, as the file 'recently-used.xbel' will no longer be emptied.
"With all due respect John I am head of IT and I have it on good authority if you type 'Google' into Google you can break the internet, so please no one try it, even for a joke." ( Jen on 'The IT Crowd' )

Offline BusterE

  • Posting Member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #49 on: January 13, 2019, 12:36:01 pm »
STOP DOING ALL THAT WORK BILL!

In your host Mint use the menu to go to

'preferences', then 'privacy'.

Turn the switch to 'on'.

Boot your guest using the backdoor method I found. After it works, shut the guest down. Now reboot your Mint. When it is up and running

open your VMWare and look on the left. Real magic this time.

Thanks go to Jason for finding the thread, and Harry for implementing it. Cash donations acceptable.

Offline ssfc72

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #50 on: January 13, 2019, 02:48:05 pm »
Yess!!   Works great now!

Thank you Buster and Jason!

I am now running Deepin and MXLinux as Virtual machines, using VMWare player, with Mint 18.3 as a Host machine.
Mint 18.3 on an HP Pavilion X360, 11" k120ca notebook
Tried Mint 19, but too many bugs. Went back to Mint 18.3
Cellphone ZTE Axon 7 Mini, PCMobile pay as you go

Offline BusterE

  • Posting Member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #51 on: January 13, 2019, 06:00:57 pm »
So the problem seems to have been specific to the Mint defaults. Awfully tough to find.

So Bill, did you get full screen working for MX Linux ? (Took me awhile.) Drag and drop works in both? Sometimes copy/paste is needed instead with Xfce I found..

And now the big questions: Do you like the 2 distros? And do you find working in a virtual machine quite alright?
 

Offline ssfc72

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #52 on: January 13, 2019, 07:24:38 pm »
MXLinux kept starting up at a lowly 800X600 resolution.  :-(
Took a lot of messing with the Display setting resolution, to get an acceptal high resolution.
Even then it wasn t quite right.
I did get mxlinux to run full screen.
I didn t do much other testing. ( MXLinux works very well from a usb pendrive, as a Live version)

Deepin works beautifully. Full screen resolution, right fron the get go.

I am very impressed with vmware player! Very slick!

I appreciate your list of benefits of using and running a virtual machine.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2019, 10:26:18 pm by ssfc72 »
Mint 18.3 on an HP Pavilion X360, 11" k120ca notebook
Tried Mint 19, but too many bugs. Went back to Mint 18.3
Cellphone ZTE Axon 7 Mini, PCMobile pay as you go

Online Jason Wallwork

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #53 on: January 13, 2019, 07:46:35 pm »
Glad you figured it out, Bill.
Primary: Desktop w/ Win10Pro/OpenSUSE Leap  on i5-3.2 GHz w/ 12 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD boot & 2x2 TB RAID 10 array for extra storage

Secondary/Test: Toshiba Satellite Ultrabook Z830-00K w/ Win10/Kali Linux 2019.2  (i3-1.4 GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SDD)

Phone: Sony Xperia XA1 Ultra w/ Android Oreo 8.0

Online buster

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 503
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #54 on: January 13, 2019, 08:10:30 pm »
More to add to the saga.

On my old, old computer I have 2 hard drives. One has Mint 19.1, and it is the ssd, and the other has Win 7 on a regular laptop hard drive. Both have VMWare 15, one designed for Linux, and one for Windows. Both of these have the latest Deepin installed.

And on each machine I installed my test software, ExtremeTuxRacer.

I works really well on Windows 7. It doesn't work, other than going down a hill and banging into trees, on Mint.

You would think they would perform equally well - same hardware, same ram. And Mint has the faster ssd.
"With all due respect John I am head of IT and I have it on good authority if you type 'Google' into Google you can break the internet, so please no one try it, even for a joke." ( Jen on 'The IT Crowd' )

Online Jason Wallwork

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #55 on: January 13, 2019, 09:15:39 pm »
Did you check to see if VMware WS Player used the same settings for each?
Primary: Desktop w/ Win10Pro/OpenSUSE Leap  on i5-3.2 GHz w/ 12 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD boot & 2x2 TB RAID 10 array for extra storage

Secondary/Test: Toshiba Satellite Ultrabook Z830-00K w/ Win10/Kali Linux 2019.2  (i3-1.4 GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SDD)

Phone: Sony Xperia XA1 Ultra w/ Android Oreo 8.0

Online buster

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 503
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #56 on: January 13, 2019, 10:22:05 pm »
The only think I know for sure is that 1 core is used and 2048 is selected for ram. Didn't notice anything else. And video card ram is not negotiable in VMWare.

Quite surprised me. And the difference is noticeable. No difference for anything else, like the winning celebration in Kpat. Or general use.
"With all due respect John I am head of IT and I have it on good authority if you type 'Google' into Google you can break the internet, so please no one try it, even for a joke." ( Jen on 'The IT Crowd' )

Online Jason Wallwork

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #57 on: January 14, 2019, 12:38:54 am »
Quite surprised me. And the difference is noticeable. No difference for anything else, like the winning celebration in Kpat. Or general use.

Don't know about VMware with Windows but you most certainly can adjust video RAM in the Linux version as you can see below. My guess is that the Windows player is using 3D acceleration by default and the Linux player isn't, judging by your description.
Primary: Desktop w/ Win10Pro/OpenSUSE Leap  on i5-3.2 GHz w/ 12 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD boot & 2x2 TB RAID 10 array for extra storage

Secondary/Test: Toshiba Satellite Ultrabook Z830-00K w/ Win10/Kali Linux 2019.2  (i3-1.4 GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SDD)

Phone: Sony Xperia XA1 Ultra w/ Android Oreo 8.0

Online buster

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 503
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #58 on: January 14, 2019, 09:28:51 am »
So I checked deepin in old machine Mint, old machine Win7, and laptop win10. All 3 have identical display settings including 3D checked, and 768 mbs graphics memory. I did none of this. Just defaults.

So even more surprising.
"With all due respect John I am head of IT and I have it on good authority if you type 'Google' into Google you can break the internet, so please no one try it, even for a joke." ( Jen on 'The IT Crowd' )

Online buster

  • Posting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 503
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deepin - Live iso?
« Reply #59 on: January 14, 2019, 11:19:27 am »
Bill wrote:

"Took a lot of messing with the Display setting resolution, to get an acceptal high resolution.
Even then it wasn t quite right.
I did get mxlinux to run full screen.
I didn t do much other testing. ( MXLinux works very well from a usb pendrive, as a Live version)"

To make sure it runs full screen just as deepin does follow these simple steps:
1. While in MX Linux open Synaptic, and no other package manager.
2. Make sure you find the 'search' at the  top, not the one beside it, and type in 'vmware' and search.
3. Scroll down the results and find these two things and install them: open-vm-tools, open-vm-tools-desktop.
4. Maybe log out and in.
5. Try the full screen button in VMWare.
"With all due respect John I am head of IT and I have it on good authority if you type 'Google' into Google you can break the internet, so please no one try it, even for a joke." ( Jen on 'The IT Crowd' )